Welcome Guest. Please Login or Register  

You are here: Index > General Stuff > Generals > Topic : Middle School Flying Tiger Club

Threaded Mode | Print  

Middle School Flying Tiger Club, Curriculum and Information (10 Replies, Read 20271 times)
SpecialEd
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
I am starting an aviation science, math, information club at a new middle school where I teach that just happens to have the tiger for a mascot. I am a former MAC pilot and would like any suggestions some of you may have for my curriculum and ideas. This is my VERY first post so I am interested in your responses. Special Ed  :??:
IP: --   

Middle School Flying Tiger Club
aaatripp
Group: Moderator
Post Group: Super Member

cousin of Maax C. Hammer, Jr., AVG 22Sep41 RIP
Here are a few ideas for you:

1.  Contact your local Air Force Assn. chapter and ask them about the national AFA support for STEM programs (science, technology, engineering, math) in K-12.

2.  Study the history of Gen. Claire Lee Chennault, the commander of the American Volunteer Group (AVG)-The Flying Tigers. <http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chennault>

3.  Study Chennault's famous publication "The Role of Defensive Pursuit" (1935) and compare it with the theories of Col. John Boyd.  Both were very influential in developing successful theories of air combat manuvering (fighter tactics).

4.  Navigate through this Flying Tigers website for many interesting histories and extensive data to aid your students, to ensure that they have access to accurate data.

5.  For your classes there are some excellent videos which are relevant:
    a.  FEI HU (available on this website/memorabilia)
    b.  DOGFIGHTS (a great episode covering The Flying Tigers).
    c.  On the Military Channel is an excellent episode of Secrets of WWII titled
          "They flew for China" which tells the AVG story.

6.  Be advised - the "Flying Tigers" movie starring John Wayne is Hollywood, not